Zapper for Nintendo Playchoice 10

I bought a spare Nintendo Zapper a couple of years ago with the plan of modding it to work with my Playchoice 10. The zapper is such an iconic accessory and Duck Hunt is one of my all-time favourite games for the NES. I don’t have a copy of Duck Hunt for Playchoice but they do come up occasionally and there’s a few multicarts available now.

It’s true there’s an official gun but getting hold of one at a decent price is near impossible. I’ve seen them go for around £80 – £100 and a Zapper goes for £5 – £10; so a no-brainer then.
Recently I was given a couple of NES controller sockets from a gutted NES (which was dead so please call off the retro police!). I can now cut the wires on the socket instead of butchering the zapper itself which is a relief. 

I watched a couple YouTube videos and the procedure to make the zapper compatible with the Playchoice seems pretty straightforward. It’s just a matter of getting around to hooking up the wires and desoldering a transistor.

Author: NES4Life

Just a regular retro gamer and collector with too many projects!

Leave a Reply

