Jamma cab projects

I’ve got a couple of generic upright jamma arcade machines that are well overdue for some love and attention. I purchased both from local sellers, in a non-working condition, and have to say I’m pretty happy about both of them.

The first I acquired is this ‘Racecard’ jamma cab which was from a local pub. The seller delivered it in a horsebox and it came complete with a working TMNT PCB. The image was intermittent but my favourite arcade monitor repairman made light work of it and I finally had a cheap working cab. A good bonus feature is that the monitor can be rotated relatively easily.

The cab now runs a 60-in-1 with the monitor kept vertical. Therefore the project I have in mind is to overhaul the control panel, add a small spinner and replace the buttons with the round type. I’d keep it limited to one joystick and I also love having duplicate buttons to support lefties!


The second cab I picked up myself and it didn’t come with a game PCB. It’s quite an interesting design as its marquee is below the control panel. The issue with this cab is the monitor has vertical collapse but I’m pretty sure my monitor repairman will be able to fix it for me. It’s in overall poor condition needing new T-moulding and a good clean.


I’ve no real plans for this cab other then getting it working. I’ll keep the monitor horizontal and put in multigame like a Pandora’s Box 3.

 

ADDENDUM:

Here are some sizes and details for the ‘New Video Game’ cab:

Author: NES4Life

Just a regular retro gamer and collector with too many projects!

2 thoughts on “Jamma cab projects”

  1. That cabinet in the last photo, the one with the marquee below the control panel, is the same as the first cab I ever owned, which I had to leave behind when I moved to the USA. It had great sentimental value to me, so I’m planning to recreate it from scratch over here. This is the first time I’ve seen a picture of that cabinet online – could you do me a massive favour and take some measurements for me? Or, what’d be even better and easier for you I’m sure – could you tape a CD or a sheet of A4 or something with a known size to the side, and take some pictures? I can then get the measurements and angles etc by comparing to the reference object.

    Also is there a manufacturer labelled anywhere on it? Also also is there any manufacturer or model name labelled on the joysticks? These American joysticks I’ve been playing with aren’t great for shoot-em-ups. 🙂

    Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Caveman Joe,
      I’ve taken some measurements and updated the post for you. Hope it has everything you need. Feel free to ask for any more details and I’ll do what I can. The cabinet name is simply ‘compact’ and the manufacturers here in Blighty were ‘Brent Leisure’ (their name is on a number of my cabs). Can’t see anything on the joysticks I’m afraid. They are 8-way with microswitches but the 6 player buttons are leaf switch.
      Phill

      Like

Leave a Reply

